Today there are very few properties that date back to Charlestown's beginnings as Polmear but this building is one. It predates the harbor by about 10 years. It was used to process fish with net lofts above. Later it changed its name to 'Content' Cellars and the fishing business was sold in 1833. it then became 4 dwellings. In 1900 it became a cooperage making barrels for St Austell Brewery, and remained that way until 1950. The building was converted once more to a dwelling, a bungalow, but this time its size was reduced by 75%. During the 1960s it was leased to a Commander King who had served on HMS Salamander during the 2nd World War. hence the name today.
top of page
bottom of page